Lemon Poppy Seed Buttermilk Pancakes

vscocam330

If I know anything about myself, it’s that I’m not a breakfast person. I’m chill with two meals a day. I heard someone say that it is better to eat a piece of chocolate cake in the morning than nothing at all. Has anyone else heard this? Is it true??? I don’t think so. Or at least I’m rreeeeaaallllyy skeptical.

But on occasion, I can go for some pancakes. Especially in the evening. Breakfast in the evening is alright. Donuts any time of the day is good too. I also really love McDonald’s hash browns. That’s a confession I feel like I share with a lot of other people.

I saw someone post a picture of buttermilk pancakes the other day on my Instagram feed, and it made me want some that very moment. And it was in the morning! Maybe I just need to look at pictures of breakfast foods in the morning, and then I’ll want to eat breakfast.

This thought process is quickly becoming very uninteresting. Let’s talk pancakes!

These pancakes are a combination of one of my favorite desserts, lemon poppy seed cake, and breakfast.

vscocam325

Buttermilk makes these puppies extra fluffy. Fluffy puppies. Sounds so cute.

vscocam326

I’m getting real fresh with ya’ll by adding fresh squeezed lemon juice. This is no time to mess around…it’s breakfast time (and I know breakfast is really important to a lot of you). We also have a melody of butter, sour cream, buttermilk, and eggs that add to the depth of these pancakes. The consistency is almost creamy.

vscocam329

Zest is a wonderful thing to add when making citrus flavored anything, because the oils in the skin intensify the flavor you are going for!

vscocam328

Dry ingredients are folded into the wet ingredients until the batter is thick yet fluffy and able to be poured.

vscocam331

Behind/above the scenes. You can’t see it, but there are elephants on that plate. Syrup drenched elephants (think about that actually happening…what an image).

vscocam332

I really enjoy the freshness from the lemon, the fluffiness from the buttermilk, and creaminess from the sour cream. I topped these with a pat of butter and some maple syrup, but these would also be just as good with a dollop of sour cream sweetened with honey. Booyah! Breakfast is served.

LEMON POPPY SEED BUTTERMILK PANCAKES

recipe adapted from The All New All Purpose Joy of Cooking Cookbook

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sour cream

1/3 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1 large egg

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

zest of two lemons

1/4 cup poppy seeds

Preheat griddle to medium high heat. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Set aside.

In another bowl, whisk together sour cream, buttermilk, lemon juice, butter, egg, and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently whisk them together, mixing just until combined. Fold in lemon zest and poppy seeds.

The batter will be thick and bubbly—very similar to cake batter. Spoon 1/4 cup batter or less onto the griddle for each pancakes, smoothing out the batter in rounds. Cook until the top of each pancake is speckled with bubbles and some bubbles have popped, then turn and cok until the underside is lightly browned.

Serve immedietly or keep warm in a 200 degree oven while you finish cooking the rest. Serve with butter and maple syrup or honey and sour cream.

Get at some of these pancakes, you breakfast people!

Leave a Reply

